Football

6-of-12 MU football games selected for broadcast in C-USA package

on

Conference USA has announced its preliminary television schedule for the 2017 football season. The current confirmed schedule features games to air nationally by all four of the league’s primary television partners, with additional games to be added prior to the beginning of the season, through additional league partnerships, along with selected games as part of other conference’s television deals.

Marshall Football has six games guaranteed for television and/or internet broadcasts to date. The Herd’s first road game of the year to Carter-Finley Stadium in Raleigh, N.C. to play NC State is going to air on the ACC Network Extra as well as ESPN3 on Sept 9 at 6 p.m.

On October 14 Old Dominion comes to Huntington for the 116th Homecoming in Marshall history, and that 2:30 p.m. kickoff is scheduled for ESPN3. The following week, the Herd travels to Murfreesboro, Tenn. for a 7 p.m. kickoff against Middle Tennessee, a game scheduled for ESPN2.

The Herd is set for broadcasts in 3-of-4 final games, starting with a trip to Boca Raton, Fla. to play the Owls of FAU at 6 p.m. on CBS Sports Network. The Herd returns home for two games with its biggest rivals in C-USA — a 6:30 p.m. kickoff on Nov. 11 against the Hilltoppers of WKU, followed by a Nov. 25 game against the Golden Eagles of Southern Miss at 2:30 p.m. on Stadium.

STADIUM is a new, fully programmed, 24/7 multi-platform sports network that brings together exclusive live game and event coverage, extensive highlights, classic games, original programming, and daily live studio programming. STADIUM includes a 24/7 linear feed distributed across both digital and broadcast platforms, as well as a comprehensive array of on-demand content including additional live events and VOD highlights accessible via owned and operated STADIUM platforms and select distribution partners.

STADIUM was formed when Campus Insiders, 120 Sports, and The American Sports Network combined forces to take advantage of a combined collection of professional and collegiate rights and unique access to both digital and television distribution opportunities. STADIUM is owned by a collection of industry leaders including Silver Chalice, Sinclair, MLBAM, the NHL, the PGA TOUR, and Time, Inc. STADIUM will launch later this summer of 2017.

National games will be broadcast on traditional linear television this season on ESPN Networks, CBS Sports Network, STADIUM and beIN SPORTS. The majority of these exposures will take place on Saturday, with select Friday night telecasts also being featured.

Additionally, there will be a significant number of games that will be made available through streaming and through social media entities such as Twitter and Facebook Live. “C-USA Football will be available this season on a number of platforms through our valued television partners,” said Conference USA Commissioner Judy MacLeod. “We look forward to an exciting conference season that our fans will be able to follow throughout the fall.”

The 2017 season begins on Saturday, August 26 when Rice becomes the first C-USA team to play a regular-season game outside of the United States when the Owls face Stanford in Sydney, Australia. That game will air on ESPN. The first full weekend of the regular season will feature games on six different networks, including Saturday doubleheaders on two of the league’s partners. STADIUM will make its conference debut with UAB’s return to the gridiron when the Blazers face Alabama A&M, followed by Houston at UTSA. CBS Sports Network will air a C-USA/SEC doubleheader with Kentucky at Southern Miss, along with Vanderbilt at Middle Tennessee.

beIN SPORTS makes its 2017 Conference USA debut on September 9 by showing FIU’s home opener against Alcorn State, the first of 10 Saturday evening games on the network. ESPN3 will be a prominent entity to watch C-USA Football on, with 10 conference match-ups on the initial schedule, with more to be added. Five non-conference games in September will also be shown on ESPN3.

The 2017 C-USA Championship game on Saturday, Dec. 2 is scheduled to air on either ESPN or ESPN 2. It marks the 13th-straight year that the C-USA Championship will air on the ESPN Networks. ESPN is also scheduled to carry all six of C-USA’s bowl games in which it has a guaranteed selection. Additional Conference USA football television exposures will be released as soon as they are finalized.

mufb-2016-911-12-mu-42-mt-17-itavius-mathers-mugged-by-defense-including-gary-thompson-and-ryan-bee

2017 Marshall Schedule Date Team Time Network

  • Sept. 2 MIAMI-OHIO (Season-Home Opener), 6:30 p.m. EDT TV-TBA
  • Sept. 9 at NC State, 6 p.m. EDT ACC Network Extra/ESPN3
  • Sept. 16 KENT STATE (HOF Weekend), 6:30 p.m. EDT TV-TBA
  • Sept. 30 at Cincinnati, TBA TV-TBA
  • Oct. 7 at Charlotte*, TBA TV-TBA
  • Oct. 14 OLD DOMINION* (Marshall’s 116th Homecoming), 2:30 p.m. TV-ESPN3
  • Oct. 20 (Fri.) at Middle Tennessee*, 7 p.m. EDT/6 p.m. CT TV-ESPN2
  • Oct. 28 FIU*, 2:30 p.m. EDT TV-TBA
  • Nov. 3 (Fri.) at Florida Atlantic*, 6 p.m. TV-CBS Sports Network
  • Nov. 11 WKU*, 6:30 p.m. EDT TV-beIN SPORTS
  • Nov. 18 at UTSA*, TBA TV-TBA
  • Nov. 25 SOUTHERN MISS* (Senior Day), 2:30 p.m. TV-STADIUM
  • Dec. 2 C-USA Championship At team with best record TBA TV-ESPN or ESPN2

*Conference USA game

Home -BOLD

++++++++++++++++++++++++++

2017 CONFERENCE USA FOOTBALL TELEVISION SCHEDULE

(Confirmed games as of June 7; Subject to change)

Date Game Time (ET/CT) Network

  • Sat., Aug. 26 Stanford vs. Rice 10:00p ET/9:00p CT ESPN
  • Fri., Sept. 1 Charlotte at Eastern Michigan 6:30p ET/5:30p CT ESPN3
  • Fri., Sept. 1 Navy at Florida Atlantic 8:00p ET/7:00p CT ESPNU
  • -more-
  • Sat., Sept. 2 UTEP at Oklahoma 3:30p ET/2:30p CT FOX
  • Sat., Sept. 2 Alabama A&M at UAB 3:30p ET/2:30p CT Stadium
  • Sat., Sept. 2 Kentucky at Southern Miss 4:00p ET/3:00p CT CBSSN
  • Sat., Sept. 2 Houston at UTSA 7:00p ET/6:00p CT Stadium
  • Sat., Sept. 2 Vanderbilt at Middle Tennessee 8:00p ET/7:00p CT CBSSN
  • Sat., Sept. 9 Charlotte at Kansas State 12:00p ET/11:00a CT FSN
  • Sat., Sept. 9 Florida Atlantic at Wisconsin 12:00p ET/11:00a CT BTN
  • Sat., Sept. 9 UAB at Ball State 3:00p ET/2:00p CT ESPN3
  • Sat., Sept. 9 Middle Tennessee at Syracuse 3:30p ET/2:30p CT ACC Network/ESPN3
  • Sat., Sept. 9 Marshall at NC State 6:00p ET/5:00p CT ACC Network/ESPN3
  • Sat., Sept. 9 North Texas at SMU 7:00p ET/6:00p CT ESPN3
  • Sat., Sept. 9 Southern at Southern Miss 7:00p ET/6:00p CT Stadium
  • Sat., Sept. 9 Mississippi State at Louisiana Tech 7:30p ET/6:30p CT CBSSN
  • Sat., Sept. 9 Alcorn State at FIU TBA beIN SPORTS
  • Sat., Sept. 9 UTSA at Baylor 8:00p ET/7:00p CT FSN
  • Sat., Sept. 9 WKU at Illinois 8:00p ET/7:00p CT FSN
  • Fri., Sept. 15 Arizona at UTEP 10:15p ET/9:15p CT ESPN
  • Sat., Sept. 16 North Carolina at Old Dominion 3:30p ET/2:30p CT Stadium
  • Sat., Sept. 16 North Texas at Iowa 3:30p ET/2:30p CT ESPN2
  • Sat., Sept. 16 FIU at Indiana 3:30p ET/2:30p CT BTN
  • Sat., Sept. 16 Middle Tennessee at Minnesota 3:30p ET/2:30p CT BTN
  • Sat., Sept. 16 Louisiana Tech at WKU 7:00p ET/6:00p CT Stadium
  • Sat., Sept. 16 Southern Miss at UL Monroe 7:00p ET/6:00p CT ESPN3
  • Sat., Sept. 16 Bethune-Cookman at Florida Atlantic 8:00p ET/7:00p CT beIN SPORTS
  • Sat., Sept. 16 Rice at Houston 8:00p ET/7:00p CT ESPN3
  • Sat., Sept. 23 UAB at North Texas 6:30p ET/5:30p CT beIN SPORTS
  • Sat., Sept. 23 Ball State at WKU 7:00p ET/6:00p CT Stadium
  • Sat., Sept. 30 UTEP at Army 3:30p ET/2:00p CT CBSSN
  • Sat., Sept. 30 Middle Tennessee at Florida Atlantic 7:00p ET/6:00p CT Stadium
  • Sat., Oct. 7 Florida Atlantic at Old Dominion 6:00p ET/5:00p CT Stadium
  • Sat., Oct. 7 Army at Rice 6:30p ET/5:30p CT beIN SPORTS
  • Sat., Oct. 7 FIU at Middle Tennessee 3:00p ET/2:00p CT ESPN3
  • Sat., Oct. 14 Old Dominion at Marshall 2:30p ET ESPN3
  • Sat., Oct. 14 Middle Tennessee at UAB 6:30p ET/5:30p CT beIN SPORTS
  • Sat., Oct. 14 UTEP at Southern Miss 7:00p ET/6:00p CT Stadium
  • Fri., Oct. 20 WKU at Old Dominion TBA CBSSN
  • Fri., Oct. 20 Marshall at Middle Tennessee 7:00p ET/6:00p CT ESPN2
  • Sat., Oct. 21 UAB at Charlotte 6:30p ET/5:30p CT beIN SPORTS
  • Sat., Oct. 21 Southern Miss at Louisiana Tech 7:00p ET/6:00p CT Stadium
  • Sat., Oct. 21 North Texas at Florida Atlantic TBA ESPN3
  • Sat., Oct. 28 Florida Atlantic at WKU 4:30p ET/3:30p CT Stadium
  • Sat., Oct. 28 Old Dominion at North Texas TBA ESPN3
  • Fri., Nov. 3 Marshall at Florida Atlantic 6:00p ET CBS SN
  • Sat., Nov. 4 Charlotte at Old Dominion 3:30p ET/2:30p CT ESPN3
  • Sat., Nov. 4 UTSA at FIU 7:00p ET/6:00p CT Stadium
  • Sat., Nov. 4 UTEP at Middle Tennessee 7:30p ET/6:30p CT beIN SPORTS
  • Sat., Nov. 11 Florida Atlantic at Louisiana Tech 3:30p ET/2:30p CT Stadium
  • Sat., Nov. 11 WKU at Marshall 6:30p ET beIN SPORTS
  • Sat., Nov. 11 Middle Tennessee at Charlotte 2:00p ET/1:00p CT ESPN3
  • Sat., Nov. 11 UTEP at North Texas TBA ESPN3
  • Fri., Nov. 17 Middle Tennessee at WKU 8:00p ET/7:00p CT CBSSN
  • Sat., Nov. 18 Army at North Texas 6:30p ET/5:30p CT beIN SPORTS
  • Sat., Nov. 18 FIU at Florida Atlantic 7:00p ET/6:00p CT Stadium
  • Sat., Nov. 18 Rice at Old Dominion 2:00p ET/1:00p CT ESPN3
  • Fri., Nov. 24 WKU at FIU 7:00p ET/6:00p CT beIN SPORTS
  • Sat., Nov. 25 Southern Miss at Marshall 2:30p ET Stadium
  • Sat., Nov. 25 UTSA at Louisiana Tech TBA ESPN TBA
  • Sat., Nov. 25 Old Dominion at Middle Tennessee 3:00p ET/2:00p CT ESPN3
  • Sat., Nov. 25 North Texas at Rice 1 pm ET/12p CT ESPN3
  • Sat., Dec. 16 R+L Carriers New Orleans Bowl 1:00p ET/12:00p CT ESPN
  • Sat., Dec. 16 Gildan New Mexico Bowl 4:30p ET/3:30p CT ESPN
  • Tue., Dec.19 Boca Raton Bowl 7:00p ET/6:00p CT ESPN
  • Thu., Dec. 21 St. Petersburg Bowl 8:00p ET/7:00p CT ESPN
  • Fri., Dec. 22 Bahamas Bowl 12:30p ET/11:30a CT ESPN
  • Tue., Dec. 26 Zaxby’s Heart of Dallas Bowl TBA ESPN
  • *Wed., Dec. 27 Independence Bowl 1:30p ET/12:30p CT ESPN
  • *Secondary agreement if ACC or SEC cannot fill bowl obligations

About Woody Woodrum

Senior Editor and columnist/writer for Herd Insider since 2003, with Kindred Communications on radio for Marshall football/men's basketball pregame and postgame shows since 1996 and with First Sentry Bank Sportsline (Also Scott on Sports, Sideline Sports and Herd Insider Sportsline) since 1997. Married to Liz (12-22-1990) and one son, Tre' (11-7-1997). National Sportswriters & Sportscasters West Virginia Broadcaster of the Year winner for radio, 2000; won W.Va. Broadcasters Best Talk Show in 2013 with co-host Paul Swann and W.Va. Broadcasters Best Play-by-Play in 2015 with Jason Toy (Huntington at South Charleston, state AAA semifinals). Member of (College) Football Writers Association of America, (College) Basketball Writers Association of America and National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association. Color commentator for Marshall football (1999-2000), for Marshall basketball (2004-2016) and Marshall baseball (2004-2016). Color for high school football at Spring Valley (1999-2008), Cabell Midland (2009-2012) and Huntington (W.Va.) High School (2013-2016).

Recommended for you